What happend in Düsseldorf (Germany)

Dusseldorf

It’s Sunday. My wife is going to Düsseldorf for a three days company training. A good reason to take the chance to go with her for a day and a night. We stayed at hotel Windsor. It’s a very traditionally decorated hotel. The welcome was friendly and straightforward. The room (21) looks a bit old-fashioned but in a stylish way. Everything looks clean, but it smells a bit dusty. There is also wifi. But it takes some time to figure out how it works on an iPad. The beds  are good and when the windows are closed it’s quiet. The breakfast is nothing special but the service friendly. I rate the hotel with an 7.5 out of 10.
RESTAURANT FISCHHAUS - DÜSSELDORF - GERMANY 2013 - Kloppendhard - Nathan Vennekens

No shrimps
Because we arrived in the afternoon, we decided to start to explore Düsseldorf immediately. We went to Altstadt (at river Rhein). It’s a shopping area with restaurants and touristic attractions. All cafés were stuffed. People drink beer and watch soccer or Formula one on the many outdoor tv screens. It looks cozy but we were not interested. After a long walk we decided to have a late afternoon lunch at Fischhaus, a big fish restaurant. We had soup and shared a mixed grilled fish plate. I ordered a creamy asparagus soup with shrimps, but they forgot the shrimps. When I said this to the waiter, he took my soup and brought it back with a few small and cold (!) shrimps in it. It was okay, but my soup was a bit cold already. The grilled plate was fine. I rate this place with a 6 out of 10.

Review RESTAURANT LA CASTAGNAS - DÜSSELDORF

No bill at all
Just two hours later, we had a reservation at Italian restaurant La Castagnas. This Italian restaurant disappointed us in almost every way possible. There was one nice waitress but we didn’t like the food at all. The antipasta looked and tasted like it came straight out of a can and didn’t taste fresh. Some vegetables even tasted a bit chemical. As our main course, we had risotto with salmon and spaghetti with shrimps. Our dishes were way too salty for us, and we sent the dishes back to the kitchen and asked for the bill. They presented us the full bill, with no discount at all. I told them that I was not going to pay for the food I had not eaten, and then they told me it was MY problem that I didn’t like the food. The food was fine according to them. I didn’t like their attitude at all, and told them I wasn’t going to pay the full bill. The staff started to get a bit nervous. And suddenly, they said I didn’t have to pay anything! (maybe they were afraid that other customers could hear us). I was very surprised, and said I want to pay for some of the dishes, but I couldn’t convince them (again). In the end, we shook hands and left…What a weird experience. The number 16 of restaurants in Düsseldorf (according to Tripadvisor) is not worth its rank at all. I rate this place with a 2 out of 10, and that’s only for that one helpfull waitress.

Review RESTAURANT LUANG PRABANG - DÜSSELDORF

No desserts
Somewhat confused, we started walking again. My wife had eaten enough, but I still wanted to have some real dinner. We went to the number 1 restaurant according to Tripadvisor: Luang Prabang (Laos Kitchen). Here we had a cocktail, Lab Fish (with sticky rice) and Tom Kai soup. The dishes were very spicy (even for my wife, and my wife can handle Spicy!) and the Lab Fish was a bit too salty (again). The cocktail was nice though. But when I asked for the menu to have a look at their desserts, they told us the kitchen was closed. What is wrong with these restaurants?! We had a good laugh about it, but it is also sad. I rate this place with a 5,5 out of 10.

review CAFE HUFTGOLD

Nice coffee to go
That morning I had to leave early for work. I just had time to try a coffee bar we saw the day before. Cafe Huftgold looks very cosy and they even show movies. Unfortunately I only could enjoy a coffee to go. But it tasted nice and it was not expensive at all. The service was fine. I rate cafe Huftgold with an 8 out of 10.

Dusseldorf

Dusseldorf skyline

Geef een reactie

